Beer Bread

imageedit_8_5532211638 Beer Bread, yes, beer bread. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’ve never heard of this delicious bread before a few months ago. The name in and of itself sounds strange and well, I wasn’t too sure I’d like it, as I’m not a big fan of beer. But luckily I got to try it at one of my work potlucks. One of my co-workers baked some and brought it to work along with a stick of butter to slather on this wonderful creation. At first glance the thick slices looked dense and like it might be on the dry side. It almost reminded me of soda bread in appearance from the foggy recesses of my mind way back in my grade school days when a teacher would bake some for St. Patrick’s Day. So I didn’t have high hopes for it. But I dutifully tried a little bit of everything everyone brought in and grabbed a half slice of the beer bread with a little bit of butter spread on top. My first bite into the crunchy, buttery crust and dense, not dry at all, inside (almost biscuit like) I was very pleasantly surprised and instantly in love.

Fast forward the following weekend. I googled this wonderful bread recipe and found that many recipes pop up, most following the same basic recipe. So I grabbed the one that was most straight forward/easy and went to work. I was surprised at how few ingredients there were, which made me a little doubtful of my results. Maybe my co-worker used a different version of this recipe? So, I forge ahead, mixing all the ingredients together, pouring a stick of melted butter over the top of the dough, which again, made me raise my eyebrow and baked it as directed.

It came out beautifully! It was delicious! Buttery and crispy on the outside; a nice thick, crunchy and slightly chewy crust. And a nice moist, fluffy, light flavor bread inside with the slightest hint of the beer when I use the darker beers. I have now made this bread several times, using a variety of beers: Sessions Dark Ale, Pipeline’s Coffee Beer (the hub loves this beer, me not so much, but it makes a yummy beer bread!), Foster’s Lager or whatever I had in the fridge. For instance, today’s beer bread was made with some left over beer from a party: Pabst Blue Ribbon, again it came out yummy! I have found the darker the beer, the more flavor, which makes sense. So, even if you’re not a beer drinker, or don’t like a particular beer, it’ll make a scrumptious beer bread. My next beer bread I make I want to try a fruity beer, maybe raspberry or an apple ale. The only problem with this bread is… you eat way too much!  🙂

Happy baking!


 

Beer Bread Recipe

  • 3 cups flour
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 – 12oz can or bottle of beer
  • ½ stick of butter, melted (¼ cup)

Directions: Preheat oven to 375ºF. Measure all the dry ingredients in a bowl and sift together with a wire whisk. Pour the beer of your choice into dry ingredients and mix together. Spread into buttered loaf pan. Pour melted butter over the raw dough and bake in the oven for 60 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes and enjoy.

Notes: I sometimes find that either the beer is only 11oz or there just isn’t enough moisture to incorporate all the ingredients well. So, I take the empty can or bottle and put some water in it, swish it around and add a little more to the dough mixture. Also, the original recipe calls for the whole stick of butter (1/2 cup), but I found it makes the crust too hard and crunchy. So, if you think you’d enjoy that, try it. Sometimes I use about a 1/3 cup of butter. You can play with the amount and see what works best for you.


Step by step pictorial:

imageedit_23_8183112978Gather your ingredients.

imageedit_6_9848098810Measure the dry ingredients into a bowl

imageedit_8_3823044039Whisk to sift all dry ingredients together

imageedit_10_9527576316Pour beer into dry ingredients

imageedit_12_4580766979Mix it all together

imageedit_14_9416582018It should look like this when all mixed together

imageedit_16_3210437048Spread evenly into bread pan

imageedit_18_9481683518Pour melted butter over raw dough

imageedit_20_6723221350It doesn’t look too pretty at this point, but have faith

60 minutes later….

imageedit_3_2280681539Yummy!

 

Leave a Reply

